PWC dean, program chairs join JMC’s 1st IRCon

Nov 26, 2018 | News, Research | 0 comments

PWC continues to uphold academic pursuit of knowledge with its recent participation in Jose Maria College’s first International Research Convention (IRCon) held last October 20, 2018 at the host campus venue. Dr. Lyndon Devero, dean of college, Dr. Alfonso Bantilan, program chair of BS Information Technology, Mr. Jerson John Trocio of BS Psychology, Dr. Cheryl Vilog of AB Broadcasting, and Dr. Erwin Tangonan of BS Hospitality Management presented their respective papers in the said event. Notably, PWC’s participants in Rizal Memorial Colleges’ research convention last September were from the same pool of presenters.

READ: PWC awarded in international research convention

JMC through conference chair Mr. Dennis Lazarte called for professionals, academic institution heads, faculty and non-teaching staff, graduate and undergraduate students, and researchers from Government and Non-Government Organizations (GOs and NGOs), and Community Service Organizations (CSOs) to submit their papers for oral presentation.

With the theme “Embracing the Challenges of Multidisciplinary Research, Innovations and Development”, the convention gathered over 600 researchers from all over and outside the country including Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea, and Japan. With researchers from diverse academic and cultural backgrounds tackling studies of various disciplines, the event ran from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

The convention was further graced by plenary speaker Dr. Peter Faistauer, international researcher from University of Salzburg, Austria, who also serves as Honorary Consul of the Republic of Austria for Mindanao and Sulu Archipelago. He was joined by Dr. Felix C. Chavez, international researcher and author.

Furthering its active participation in the cultivation of research culture, PWC will be holding its own National Multidisciplinary Research Convention on January 24, 2019. Preparations are currently being made as PWC calls for the participation of student and faculty researchers from different colleges.