PWC participates in Davao Agri Trade Expo 2018

Sep 27, 2018 | News, Tertiary Department | 0 comments

The Business Education department and Food Technology program collaborated in representing PWC during the 20th Davao Agri Trade Expo held on September 20-22, 2018 at SMX Convention Center, SM Lanang Premier.

Davao Agri Trade Expo is an annual event initiated by the Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. in partnership with various local associations. It provides an avenue for business owners, students, enthusiasts, and agricultural experts to interact with the purpose of exchanging ideas and building networks towards the growth of the agricultural sector in the region. With the theme “Better Agri for EveryJUAN, this year’s DATE focused on the role of the golden crops namely bamboo, banana, cacao, cassava, coconut, coffee, corn and rice along with farming and food technology innovations developed to bolster the industry.

The expo hosted an agri trade exhibit, technical seminars, conferences on food security and infrastructure and agribusiness innovation, business matching, networking night, and competitions. Davao City mayor Sara Z. Duterte graced the opening ceremony while keynote personalities led the conferences with a common emphasis on the sustainable growth of Davao’s agricultural industries. The Young Farmers and Bloggers Meetup concluded the three-day event, gathering bloggers, students farmers, and social media influencers.

PWC showcased its Business Education and Food Technology programs in a booth alongside 70 others during the exhibit. Furthermore, PWC won first place in the Video Advertising Competition and third place in Photojournalism. Ms. Elizabeth G. Pasion, MBA, program chair of BS Entrepreneurship also received recognition for her efforts in organizing the said competitions.

The following were the student participants under moderators Mr. Jovito Balbuena and Ms. Melissa Jill Bautista:

Video Advertising Competition (Champion)

Albert Lacabar

Jason Francisco

Eva Mae Anonat

Nicole Chantlie Alvarez

Tiffany Kara Tabanao

Photo Journalism (3rd Place)

Chloe Monette Gabuya

Albert Lacabar

Clark Kent Usaraga